Everything Will Be Ok

Posted: August 30, 2014 in Divorce, Parenting
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both of my parents were brought up in two parent families and both sets of my grandparents remained married until death.  When one of them died they remained unmarried and as far as I know didn’t have any special “friends”.

My parents divorced when I was 12.

Things are better now and it will be ok.

I wonder how moms and dads can say that to their children with a straight face when they tell them that the family is splitting up.

Men and women who do not come from a broken family have no frame of reference of the pain that children feel.  Furthermore the attitude that a child will be ok is just plain arrogant.  I will say that the pain for a child is 1000 times worse than it is for the parents, who can replace their spouse with another.  Kids cannot replace their moms and dads that way.

For the parents that come from broken homes, they should just know better.

Things were not ok.

 

Additional Reading:

Denying that marriage has moral meaning is the new virtue. – Dalrock

Comments
  1. C.J. Penn says:

    I sometimes wonder how I would have ended up if my parents had not gotten divorced. And then there was my first step father… abusive. Thankfully, my second step father was the dad I had never had.

  2. […] Source: Everything Will Be Ok […]

Leave a comment